configure isis area topology-mode

configure isis area area_name topology-mode [single | multi | transition] {level [1 | 2]}


This command enables or disables use of multi-topology TLVs as specified in draft-ietf-isis-wg-multi-topology-11.

Syntax Description

area_name Specifies the router process to be configured.
single Specifies a single topology, where extended TLVs are used in SPF calculation and TLVs.
multi Specifies a multi topology, where only the multi-topology TLVs are used in SPF calculation and TLVs.
transition Specifies a transition topology, where both extended and multi-topology TLVs are used in SPF calculation and TLVs. The transition option is useful when migrating a routing domain.
level For L1/L2 routers, this applies the configuration to IS-IS level 1 or level 2. If the level option is not specified, the configuration applies to both L1 and L2 areas. This option has no affect on L1-only and L2-only routers.



Usage Guidelines

Multi-topology capability is desirable if both an IPv4 topology and an IPv6 topology exist with different routing paths.

Extreme supports MT IDs 0 and 2 (IPv4 unicast and IPv6 unicast) only.


The following command configures the transition topology mode for areax:

configure isis area areax topology-mode transition


This command was first available in ExtremeXOS 12.1.

Platform Availability

This command is available on platforms with a Core or Premier license as described in the ExtremeXOS and Switch Engine 31.7 Feature License Requirements document.